The state of Florida includes many different crimes under the term “theft”: Larceny, stealing, misappropriation, conversion and other illegal activities. Florida divides charges of theft into two different categories: Petit theft, and grand theft. Of the two charges, petit theft is less serious—it means that the state will prosecute the crime as a misdemeanor. Grand theft, however, is much more serious. In a grand theft, the state has decided to prosecute the theft as a felony.
Each charge comes with serious legal consequences, but the penalties for grand theft tend to be much more severe. If you are facing charges of theft, it is important to know the possible penalties that a conviction for grand theft can carry. In this post, we’ll go over the legal consequences that you could face if convicted of grand theft in Florida.
What are the degrees of grand theft?
Florida identifies three degrees of grand theft, ranging from most to least severe. The severity of the penalty corresponds to the degree of theft.
- First degree grand theft
In Florida, first degree grand theft refers to a theft of property of $100,000 or more. First degree theft charges can also be made when someone uses a motor vehicle while committing a crime, or if there was $1,000 or more in property damage. A conviction of this charge comes with a potential fine of $10,000 and a maximum sentence of 30 years in prison.
- Second degree grand theft
In second degree grand theft, the stolen property must be valued between $20,000 and $99,999. If convicted of second degree grand theft, you could face a fine of up to $10,000 and jail time of up to 15 years.
- Third degree grand theft
Finally, stolen property worth between $300 and $19,999 is considered third degree grand theft. The charge also applies to stolen firearms, motor vehicles, animals, fire extinguishers and traffic signs. Third degree grand theft can carry a penalty of a $5,000 fine and up to five years in jail.