The state of Florida prohibits the cultivation or manufacture of controlled substances and has in place stiff penalties for each. This includes the growth and/or use of marijuana.
One aspect among several in determining the severity of a manufacturing charge is the location in which it took place. For example, whereas a cultivating or manufacturing charge might have originally been prosecuted at the level of a second-degree felony, if the act took place within 1,000 feet of a school, day-care, park or community facility it could be upgraded to a first-degree felony. In addition, Florida state statutes also list specific chemicals commonly used to manufacture illegal substances. If an individual is found to be in possession of these chemicals with the suspected intent to use them for this purpose, he or she can also be charged with manufacturing.
If the commission of a cultivation or manufacturing crime causes bodily harm to a child 16 years of age or younger, the charge can be upgraded to a first-degree felony with a minimum sentence of 10 years imprisonment. Marijuana cultivation in the state of Florida is generally prosecuted as a third degree felony with a sentence of up to five years imprisonment and/or up to a $5,000 fine. Manufacturing other controlled substances is generally prosecuted as a second degree felony with up to 15 years imprisonment and/or up to a $10,000 fine.
As you can see, the state of Florida does not take the commission of cultivation and manufacturing crimes lightly. If you have been charged with these or any other drug crime contacting an attorney immediately can help preserve your best defense.
Source: Findlaw, “Florida Drug Cultivation and Manufacturing Laws,” accessed on Dec. 31, 2017