We have all heard that no relationship is perfect. However, no matter how difficult a relationship is, it should never turn into one that encompasses violence and abuse. Being accused of such conduct is not only damaging for the relationship with a spouse or partner but could tarnish a person’s personal and professional reputation. Thus, charges for or stemming form domestic abuse should be taken seriously.
What are the domestic violence laws of Florida? According to section 741.28, domestic violence is defined as any type of assault, aggravated assault, battery, aggravated battery, sexual assault, sexual battery, stalking, aggravated stalking, kidnapping, false imprisonment or any other criminal conduct that results in the physical injury or the death or a family or household member by another family or household member.
In the state of Florida, a person is guilty of domestic violence when the accused intentionally caused bodily harm to another person. Those convicted of this charge could serve a minimum of 10 days in jail for the first offense. This increases to 15 days for the second offense and 20 days for the third offense. However, if a person is found guilty of this crime and takes place in the presence of a child under the age of 16, the accused could face a minimum of 15 days in jail. This increases to 20 days for the second offense and 30 days for the third offense.
Domestic violence is not an easy situation to be in. It is one that could ruin a family relationship and cause an individual to face criminal penalties. Therefore, it is important to understand that those facing such a charge have the right to assert a defense. This could help ensure the details of the matter are uncovered and the rights of the accused in protected.
Source: Leg.state.fl.us, “741.28 Domestic violence; definitions,” accessed March 11, 2018