If you’re stopped and accused of a DUI, it’s important for you to take steps to defend against that allegation. Florida has harsh DUI laws, so a conviction could lead to the loss of your driving privileges as well as other repercussions.
Did you know that you are required to comply with a request for a blood, breath or urine test if an officer asks for it during a traffic stop? This is called implied consent. If you refuse the test, then you may lose your license, though there are specific factors that will determine if that occurs. Usually, a refusal results in the suspension of your license for a year, but it could be longer if you have refused testing in the past.
A DUI in Florida comes with hefty expenses
DUIs are expensive in Florida. A first DUI conviction costs between $500 and $1,000 in fines. You will also be asked to:
- Complete up to a year of probation
- Potentially go to jail for up to six months (nine if a minor was in your vehicle)
- Complete community service
- Go to DUI school
On top of this, you may lose your license, which could make it hard to work and bring in an income.
If this is not your first conviction, then you will be asked to use an Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle, which also comes with its own expenses.
The expense of a DUI isn’t just administrative
A DUI costs more than just the initial fines. In fact, the average cost of a DUI in Florida is around $8,000.
You may see other costs add up, such as through an increase in your insurance premiums or the cost of your legal defense. However, defending yourself is still the best option. Why? A good defense may help reduce the charges. In some cases, the charges may be dropped if your defense is strong enough. This will help you avoid long-term penalties and repercussions that could cost you thousands over the next several months and years.
Don’t ignore the need for a strong DUI defense. You have a right to fight back against any charges you face.