Child Abuse And Child Neglect In Florida
When defending against allegations of child abuse or neglect, preparation is key. At the Kaylor Law Group, our attorneys are always prepared for trial. Together, Matthew and David Kaylor have more than 50 years of combined experience and have litigated over 160 cases. We know what it takes to build strong defenses that protect our clients’ rights.
Kaylor Law Group: Polk County’s Criminal Defense Firm.
In Florida, child abuse can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. To obtain a guilty verdict, the prosecution must prove that you intentionally caused a mental or physical injury to a child under the age of 18. If severe bodily injury resulted, or a deadly weapon was used, you may be charged with aggravated child abuse. If convicted, you face large fines and anywhere from five to 30 years in prison.
In Florida, parents and other caregivers can be charged with child neglect when they fail to provide for a child’s basic physical and mental well-being, including such items as:
- Necessary medical treatments
Individuals may also be charged with neglect if they fail to make an effort to protect children from abuse, neglect or exploitation. If convicted, you may be sentenced to up to 15 years in prison.
Helping You Defeat Your Criminal Charges
False accusations of child abuse and neglect not only expose you to criminal liability, but also damage your reputation and interfere with your parenting rights. False allegations are often brought by parents during custody disputes, as a technique to gain primary custody of minor children.
We look beyond the police report and do our own investigation. Our lawyers examine the circumstances leading up to the charge, the investigation done by police and the events surrounding your arrest. We uncover the motives behind false accusations and gather witness testimony in your support. Our firm is dedicated to your defense. We do everything in our power to defeat your criminal charges, vindicate your reputation and protect your parental rights.